Meet Myanmar’s new president

A week after U Htin Kyaw stood down as leader of the country, on Wednesday parliament elected former Pyithu Hluttaw speaker U Win Myint to be the country’s 10th president since independence.

In the vote, Win Myint won overwhelmingly with 403 out of 636. Acting president and military candidate U Myint Swe won 211 and incumbent vice president Henry Van Thio took 18 votes. There were four abstentions. (28 March 2018)